The Book of Deacon in StoryBundle

Happy Tuesday, everybody. On the various social networks I’ve been teasing that I had big announcements on the way. Well, the time has come! First and foremost, I’d like to announce that the complete trilogy will be available starting today (Feb. 26th) and running until March 19th as part of StoryBundle’s all new Indie Fantasy Bundle. Faithful followers of my blog posts may remember me mentioning StoryBundle a few times in the past. They were kind enough to feature my Sci-Fi books in their very first bundle. However, if you’re not familiar with them, let me recap. StoryBundle is a site that collects handpicked (or β€œcurated,” if you want to be fancy) batches of indie eBooks and makes them available for a limited time for a price of your choosing. You can pay anywhere from $1 to $100. If you pay enough, you’ll get bonus books too, and with a simple click, you can send a chunk of your payment to charity. If this sounds familiar, Humble Bundle works in much the same way.


For this bundle, the base bundle includes The Book of Deacon: Books 1 and 2 by yours truly, The Second Coming by David H. Burton, The Duchess of the Shallows by Neil Mc Garry and Daniel Ravipinto, Sword and Chant by Blair MacGregor, The Tormay Trilogy: Books 1 & 2 by Christopher Bunn, and Strange Places by Jefferson Smith. If you pay at least $10 you’ll also get The Battle of Verril (once again by me), and The Tormay Trilogy – Book 3: The Wicked Day by Christopher Bunn. All books are available in ePub and Mobi formats, meaning that they are compatible with just about every reading device out there. And remember, the very same minds who selected my books to be a part of this bundle selected the rest of the lineup, so if you like my stories, it stands to reason you’ll enjoy the rest of the list, so the bundle is well worth your while even if you own all of my books already… except you don’t own my books already, at least not as they appear in the bundle. You see, when the StoryBundle folks approached me, I wanted to do my best to give them something special, so the books on offer aren’t just The Book of Deacon. They are The Book of Deacon: StoryBundle Edition. First and foremost, as listed above, the bundle offers Books 1 and 2 of the trilogy packaged as a single double length book. In addition, I sifted through the feedback I’ve received over the years and identified the two most frequently cited gripes about my books. The number one complaint has always been the scattered grammatical errors that plagued the book upon its initial release. Now, most of these errors were wiped away long ago, but this latest edition has been re-read and re-revised, cleaning up some awkward sentences and lingering issues. The number two complaint was that my readers often didn’t know when to stop for the night due to the lack of chapters. Well…


That’s right. For the first time ever, The Book of Deacon has been broken into chapters. For now, this edition of the eBook is available only through StoryBundle. I urge you to consider picking it up, and even if you don’t, spread the word! As a part of the bundle we’re hoping to do lots of fun stuff, so check the StoryBundle site and my various web presences to see what sort of new things we’re up to throughout the Bundle’s run. As always, if you’ve got any questions about the bundle or my involvment in it, feel free to comment.

Until next time, thanks for reading!


  1. Damn, my guess(es) was/were pretty close!
    Chapters? Great πŸ˜€

    I’m afraid I won’t be able to buy the bundle though, since I’m broke. Yup, I don’t even have $1. I have 12 pence last time I checked, but that’s about 20 cents πŸ™

    1. You did indeed come pretty close. (The first and second books are combined in this edition, which was almost exactly one of your guesses.) No worries about not buying it. I’m still glad to have your enthusiasm and support.

  2. So somebody, somewhere, connected me with StoryBundle and I gave it a go. The first book I started to read (which shall remain nameless) I just couldn’t get involved with. So it was a little trepidatiously that I started Book of Deacon…

    And now have you to thank for the fact that I have had absolutely *zero* productivity since picking it up. At the expense of sleep, work, and general life I became totally immersed in that world until the frame narrator wrapped things up at the end of book three.

    hahaha anyways – thanks for a great couple days πŸ™‚ Excellent story – will be recommend to any who ask. Cheers.

    1. Hi! Thanks for the email. I’m glad you enjoyed the story, and I really appreciate you supporting StoryBundle. I’m sorry that the first story you tried didn’t quite meet your expectations, but with any luck you’ll find other books in the bundle to be just as enjoyable as mine. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply